Spaghetti Squash and Zucchini ‘Noodles’ | In Fragrant Garlic-Ginger Broth

Brace yourselves! After a tragicomic  7 1/2 months we’ve officially moved out of the RV and into a real house! On Saturday morning we hitched up the Gypsy Roller and hauled her out of the trailer park to our new abode, where she now sits in the driveway. While I feel somewhat indebted to the old girl for putting a roof over our heads for the past several months, I’d be lying if I said I haven’t fantasized about pushing her over the edge of a cliff or setting her ablaze and doing a wild dance around her charred remains. There are many worse fates than spending over half a year shacked up in a 28 ft. long trailer  – but I’ve felt like a caged animal over the last few month and am quite relieved to be out of that brown-upholstered box!

SpagNood1

We’re far from settled in our new place. Ninety-nine percent of our belongings are still in storage, and there’s a ton of renovating that needs to be done before we can move in the rest of our stuff. I’m pleased to report, however, that I now have a functional kitchen to cook in. It’s in serious need of an update – the colour scheme (burgundy and teal!) is an assault on the senses – but unlike the kitchenette in the RV I now I now have a normal-size stove, fridge and sink, and a decent amount of counter space. This means I no longer have to place a cutting board over the sink in order to chop vegetables, or cram all my fresh produce into a miniscule crisper – oh joy!

SpagNood2

I thought I’d use our new living arrangements as an opportunity to make a few changes to this blog. It’s fully my intention to continue to create ‘delicious meatless recipes’ – as the byline of the blog declares – but as of the weekend the ‘straight from the kitchenette of my recreational vehicle’ bit ceased to be the case. In other words, I’m not longer ‘dispatching from the Gypsy Roller,’ so I think a blog name change is in order! I’m thinking of going with Gypsy Roller’s Veggie Kitchen. We may have moved on from the Gypsy Roller, but I’d like to keep the name in the title of the blog – just to pay homage to its ‘roots’! I also plan on posting more product reviews and joining Foodie Pen Pals Program (now that I have an actual mailing address!). If there’s anything you think I should post about, do let me know.

SpagNood3

This soup is one of the last things I cooked in the kitchenette of the RV (weep… I’m already feeling a little sentimental). With Spring approaching I’m starting to crave lighter fare, despite the still dreary weather outside. Nothing is more satisfying than a hot, steaming bowl of ramen when it’s damp and cold outside – but here I’ve replaced the traditional soba noodles with roasted spaghetti squash and zucchini sliced into thin ribbons. The broth is simple but full of robust flavours – garlic, fresh ginger and red pepper flakes – and will both warm you up and clear the cobwebs out of your head! Crunchy veggies and soft tofu top the soup and make it a perfect mid-day meal or light dinner 🙂

SpagNood4

Recipe: Spaghetti Squash and Zucchini ‘Noodles’ | In Fragrant Garlic-Ginger Broth

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

Fragrant Garlic Ginger Broth

  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely sliced
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 4 cups vegetable broth (I used low sodium)
  • Salt to taste

For the rest

  • 1 small spaghetti squash
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 small zucchini sliced into ribbons (using a vegetable peeler or mandolin)
  • 1/2 small red pepper, julienned
  • 1 small carrot, grated
  • 8-10 snap peas
  • 1/2 cup soft tofu, cubed
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • Salt and fresh ground black pepper

Method:

Roast spaghetti squash: Preheat oven to 425F. Carefully cut squash in half length-wise and scoop out seeds. Drizzle 1 tablespoon of olive oil over each squash half and season lightly with salt and pepper. Place squash skin-side up in a casserole dish and roast in oven for 45 minutes, or until flesh is tender. Remove from oven and set aside to cool. While squash is cooling, prepare Fragrant Garlic-Ginger Broth.

Prepare Fragrant Garlic-Ginger Broth: Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan over low-medium heat. Add garlic, ginger and red pepper flakes and saute just until fragrant and garlic is golden brown. Add vegetable broth and bring to a gentle boil. Reduce heat to low and add zucchini, snap peas and cubed tofu. Once zucchini and snap peas are tender-crisp, remove saucepan from heat. Taste broth and adjust with salt if necessary.

Assemble soup: Once squash is cool enough to handle, scoop out flesh with a fork and divide between 2 serving bowls. Ladle broth/zucchini/snap peas/tofu on top of squash. Top soup with julienned red pepper, grated carrot and chopped cilantro. Eat!

You might also like:

26 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash and Zucchini ‘Noodles’ | In Fragrant Garlic-Ginger Broth

  1. Hope you manage to get all settled back in as soon as you can & will still think of you as the Gypsy Roller 😉 Awesome part of your journey and still look forward to your recipes & posts, even if they are from a house 🙂

  2. I’m hoping that the settling in goes well. Welcome to Foodie Pen Pals – you’ll love it, and who knows, you may get me as a sender! 🙂 As for what I’d like to see on your blog, keep cooking and writing just as you are. I enjoy your style in both food and writing!

  3. Miss Hannah! First off, congratulations on your new abode! Hang in there, beauty, the settling-in will take a while (doesn’t it always?) but once you do, you’ll be golden =) And, holy cow, this dish looks delish! Must … make … now. Thanks for sharing and can’t wait to see how your blog evolves in your new digs — I’m sure it will continue to be fabulous =) xo and be well, Hannah!

    • Yes the whole settling-in process is always that… a process! I’m trying to be patient with the renovations but it’s difficult. If only I could snap my fingers and everything would be complete. Not gonna happen, unfortunately 😉

      Thanks as always for your support and thoughtful words, Christina 🙂

  4. Congratulations! Very exciting.
    I’ve never moved with small children but I imagine it is no walk in the park! I hope the unpacking proceeds relatively smoothly.
    I like the new blog name you have proposed. I was wondering what you were going to do about your current name, now that your slabbing days are through!
    Yummy recipe too, as always. 🙂
    Keep doing what you do, I say.

  5. This looks so yummy.

    In regards to your blog name: I definitely think you should keep some of the original name. I love dispatchesfromthegypsyroller but I also love Gypsy Roller’s Veggie Kitchen… I’ve been thinking about changing my blog name as well seeing as I have moved on from the original premise of the blog (green living to animal rights). I was hoping to keep GiRRL and come up with anew acronym but so far I keep coming up empty. Originally GiRRL stood for: Grow it, Re-use, Re-cycle and Love our Earth but like I said, I’m no longer preaching the gospel of green living or gardening so the name doesn’t really suite the new purpose of my blog. Oh well…

    🙂

    p.s. Congrats on moving back into the homestead. I too am dealing with an outdated kitchen that is an “assault on the eyes”. Ha-Ha! Maybe we should share/compare pictures. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Spicy Asian Soup (GAPS) – Home Food Heals

Talk to me!

