Review: Anita’s Organic Mill Breakfast Boost

I came across this package of Anita’s Organic Mill Breakfast Boost several weeks ago (in the grocery aisle at London Drugs) when we were still living in the Okanagan. Somehow I didn’t get around to opening the package until this week, but it’s actually apropos that I’m writing this review now as we’ve since moved to the Fraser Valley – where Anita’s Organic Mill is also located. I’m always on the lookout for healthy products that are made in British Columbia and happily, this one meets both criteria.

Anita1

Anita’s works with organic farmers in BC and the Prairies and carries a wide assortment of flours, whole grains, cereals, legumes and dried fruits – all of which are Certified Organic and Kosher. Their Breakfast Boost is available in three varieties: Ancients Grains, Hemp & Chia and Nut & Seed. I bought the Ancient Grains flavour, which is made up of a blend of spelt and kamut flakes, raisins, whole almonds, dried cranberries (the real kind, not ‘Craisins’), flax, quinoa flakes and a touch of cinnamon. Talk about superfoods a go-go!

Anita2

I’ve been eating Breakfast Boost sprinkled atop Corn Flakes and almond milk, and it’s really injected new life into my morning cereal regiment! It doesn’t contain any added sugar, but the the raisins and dried cranberries alone provide the perfect amount of sweetness. I’m impressed by how satisfied I feel after eating just a 1/4 cup or so of Breakfast Boost in the morning; even by lunch time I’m still feeling full, which is very unusual for me (typically I have to eat every 2-3 hours). Breakfast Boost would also be great on top yogurt or cottage cheese for a protein-rich breakfast or snack – or even as an addition to homemade granola.

For more information on Anita’s Organic Mill products, and for recipes, head over to their website.

2 thoughts on “Review: Anita’s Organic Mill Breakfast Boost

Talk to me!

