Pina Colada Smoothie

Hey everyone! Guess what? The Gypsy Roller – our 30 ft. house on wheels – is on the move! When we packed up and moved to the Okanagan at the end of July our intention was to stay there permanently – and until we could find an actual house to live in we were shacking up in the RV, as regular readers of this blog already know. However, due to a convoluted series of unforeseen and unfortunate circumstances beyond our control, Mike (my significant other) has had to take a position with his company back in the Vancouver area, and as such we’ve been forced to return from whence we came!

Pina1

Fortunately we still own a house in Langley (a suburb of Vancouver), but until we can move into it (Mike’s sister and her family are currently there) we’ll continue to live in the RV – OH JOY! For the time being we’re staying at a trailer park in shitsville nowhere about an hour outside of Vancouver. It’s a decent park as far as these places go – but I’ll miss the fancy topiaries and senior citizens in their golf carts at the park in the Okanagan.

Anyhow, until I get the mini fridge in the RV restocked and start cooking in ernest again, I present this lowly (yet tasty) smoothie recipe. I happen to be one of those weirdos who doesn’t particularly enjoy hot climates (it must be my sunburn-prone Irish/Scottish skin and/or something residual from my joy-shunning punk rock years), but I certainly enjoy the flavours of the tropics, especially coconut and pineapple. Both abound in this recipe, which might just telekinetically transport you from whichever wintery climate to currently find yourself to a sun-soaked beach somewhere South of the equator. I’ll be there too – sitting in the shade with my nose in a book 🙂

Recipe: Pina Colada Smoothie

Makes 1 large (approximately 16 oz) smoothie or 2 smaller ones

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 cup pineapple, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt (or soy yogurt)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • Juice of 1 orange
  • 2-3 large ice cubes

Method:

Place ingredients in blender and pulse until smooth. Pour into a tall glass. Drink!

12 thoughts on “Pina Colada Smoothie

  1. While I’m sure you’ll be sad to leave all the beautiful woods and mountains of Okanagan, but think of all the food you can gorge yourself on in Vancouver!

    We’ll be winging our way to LA soon for the annual family visits. It’s 30F warmer there than here (we’re currently in the low 40s) and while I’ll welcome the warmer weather and respite from the rain, I think I might melt from the temperature shift. Give me my damp cold over arid (smoggy) desert any day 🙂

    This recipe reminds of drinking piña coladas at my favorite “bar” in the Carribean, a palm tree trunk on white sand 30 feet from the ocean. Need to find some pineapple…

    • Oh your ‘bar’ sounds pretty nice, especially today… it’s very dark and drizzly here.

      I did enjoy our 6 month in the Okanagan – it’s beautiful, there are tons of wineries, and fresh fruit abounds in the summertime! However, my good friends all live in and around Vancouver, so in a way it’s nice to be back. And you’re totally right – Vancouver is great for food!

      Enjoy LA – I’ve only ever been to the airport but would like to see the city itself some day. We’re so lucky in BC and the PNW to have mostly fresh air everywhere! I lived in Toronto for 5 years and never got used to the smoggy, humid summers 😦

  2. Ohhh adventures back to where you came from!! This smoothie sounds delicious, makes me want summer!! Please tell me that even if you move back into a house, you will continue to blog from this amazing blog url.

Talk to me!

