Liebster Award

liebster-blog-award

Hot on the heels of my nomination for the Beautiful Blogger Award, two of my fellow bloggers nominated me for the Liebster Award! When I first started my blog a few months ago I had no idea whether anyone would actually read it, awash as the Internet is in food blogs. So to not only gain readers, but for them to recommend me for awards is pretty cool 🙂 Thanks a bunch to Larissa at Love & Green Juice (an excellent resource for vegan recipes) and GiRRL_Earth (a blog focussing on environmental awareness and issues surrounding animal rights and veganism) for the nominations – I really do appreciate the recognition!

The purpose of the Liebster Award is to highlight the efforts and contributions of those who are new to blogging. Here are the guidelines for the award:

  • Add the award icon to your blog.
  • Link to your nominator to say thank you.
  • Each blogger should post 11 facts about themselves.
  • Answer the questions the tagger has set for you and create 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Choose 11 up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers, go to their blog, and tell them about the award.

Here are 11 facts about myself:

  1. I love ballet and modern dance and would like to take classes again some day.
  2. I’m an only child.
  3. I really like processed cheese slices (don’t judge me).
  4. I need a lot of peace and quiet in my life in order to feel content.
  5. I love watching documentaries on just about any topic.
  6. While I scorn most female stereotypes, I do yearn to have a walk-in closet.
  7. I love reading novels in which deeply flawed characters are depicted humorously.
  8. I have a hard time sitting still and always like to be busying my hands with something.
  9. I like that I’m getting older and wouldn’t want to go back to being in my teens or 20s.
  10. I don’t understand the appeal of either golf or gambling.
  11. I’m an avid crocheter but have had to retire this hobby for the time being because balls of yarn and babies don’t mix.

I didn’t receive questions from GiRRL_EARTH, so I’ll cut straight to Larissa’s 11 questions:

  1. What do you do to relax? Reading and cooking both relax me. So does window-shopping.
  2. What is your go-to recipe on a busy day? Steamed veggies and brown rice topped with this miso gravy.
  3. Which year do you think back on with most fondness? My son was born in 2011, so I’ll go with that year 🙂
  4. What time of day is your favourite? I like the morning, when I can quietly read, listen to the radio and get my first hit of caffeine via a fresh pot of coffee.
  5. What do you see if you look to the left? A laptop charger, a camera, an envelope of photos and a dark window.
  6. Whose shoulder has collected the most of your tears? I try not to pull my parents into my personal dramas, but when the going gets tough I usually go running to them. It’s not always the wisest idea, but I still do it.
  7. What activity energizes you? Dancing and working out at the gym, although lately I haven’t been able to do either (as evidenced by the tightness of my pants).
  8. What have you tried for the first time recently? Baby kale, and it was delicious.
  9. Where do you drink your morning beverage (coffee/tea/smoothie)? I drink my morning coffee on the couch in the RV.
  10. What was the last gift you gave yourself? Every time I shop for groceries I think of it as a gift, as so many people have to make do with so much less.
  11. What are you most grateful right now? It’s pretty cliche, but I’m thankful for my health and my life. A few weeks ago my boyfriend witnessed the aftermath of an accident where a pedestrian (a young woman in her late teens) had been struck and killed instantly by a vehicle that had run a red light. This made me realize just how unpredictable our lives are and how we can be gone in an instant. With that in mind I’m trying to not take my life for granted.

While all of the blogs I’ve nominated are new within the last year, not every blog shows its number of followers, so in some cases I can’t say for sure whether my nomineese meet the ‘less than 200 followers’ requirement. Apologies in advance (and way to go) if any of you do indeed have more than 200 followers! At any rate, here are my nominees:

  1. Honey for the Bees. Sookisu’s blog chronicles her life since making the switch from vegetarian to vegan. Lots of great vegan recipes here, too.
  2. In Vegetables We Trust. A vegan blog which features a nice cross section of recipes, from pot pies to pasta to cookies. Alexander grew up cooking and baking alongside his parents so he knows what he’s doing!
  3. Lucy’s Friendly Foods. Lucy is a vegetarian and professionally-trained chef whose recipes take into account her children’s food sensitivities. Most recipes on her blog are are dairy, egg and sesame free and all of them look delicious!
  4. More Than Greens. A vegetarian blogger on a mission to disprove those who think being vegetarian means depriving yourself of good food. The writer is an Australian living in London and posts a variety of recipes, product reviews, travel stories, and opinion pieces on various topics relating to vegetarianism.
  5. Nuts Over Oats. One of my fave bloggers, Oatsgirl’s recipes all incorporate oats in some way. If you think oats are purely the stuff of porridge and fruit crumble, you are dead wrong. Visit her blog and discovery the possibilities!
  6. The Penny Parsnip. A vegetarian blogger whose aim is to show that eating well doesn’t have to cost you a fortune. Go here for frugal and delicious vegetarian recipes, from the savoury to the sweet.
  7. Rub a Dub Dub. A catalogue of beautifully photographed vegetarian recipes. I’m envious of this woman’s photography skills and she’s clearly a wonderful cook, too.
  8. Toy Kitchen Chef. A blog written by a student trying to maintain a balanced, nutritious diet while at college. Her recipes are mostly vegan and vegetarian, and are quick and easy to follow!
  9. Vegan Flavorista. Fresh and flavourful vegan recipes from the kitchen of a chef and food writer. My mouth waters when I look at this blog.
  10. Veggie *What* Now?. A healthy living blog which features plenty of tasty vegetarian recipes. The writer has certain food allergies but uses this limitation as an opportunity to think more creatively about the food she makes.
  11. Versatile Vegan. Lots of great mostly-vegan recipes here created by Holley, a most-of-the-time-vegan. Her amusing depictions of family life make for an entertaining read.

Here are my questions for the nominees:

  1. What do you think are the three best items to donate to the food bank?
  2. What book are you currently reading and would you recommend it?
  3. How do you typically spend your time between eating dinner and going to bed?
  4. Describe your favourite local restaurant.
  5. What is your guilty pleasure when it comes to food?
  6. Who is your favourite artist?
  7. What is your favourite fruit or vegetable that grows in or around the area you live in?
  8. Which quality do you appreciate most in people?
  9. Describe favourite way to spend $10.
  10. In a perfect world, who would cook you dinner every night?
  11. Which kitchen utensil or piece of cook wear do you use the most?

Congratulations! I know everyone is busy so I have zero expectation that nominees respond to this award. But for those who can find the time I’m looking forward to reading your responses! Thanks again to Love & Green Juice and GiRRL_EARTH for the Liebster nominations 🙂

6 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award! « Nuts Over Oats

  2. I didn’t give you any questions???? Yeesh. I am such a SLACKER!!!!

    😉

    BTW, I got back into ballet 7 years ago. I belong to a wonderful Wednesday evening adult class with women ranging in age from 25 to 65. We have such a good time and we laugh at ourselves over the things our bodies can no longer do — i.e. my body refuses to do Fouette’ and Grande Jete! (this excludes the 25 year old who still has it going on!).

    🙂

    • Ya Susan you really need to get your priorities in order! LOL 😉 J/K.

      Your ballet class sounds so fun – I think it’s great you’re keeping at it. Dance is the best form of exercise as it gives you both strength AND flexibility. I took an adult modern class when I was living in Toronto, but that was ten years ago now! I hope I can take classes again soon.

      • I know, I know… like I said, total slacker. 🙂

        When the time is right, you’ll get back into it. It took me a while before I did. Everything else seemed to take priority. As it often does. :-/

Talk to me!

