Cottage Cheese Pancakes with Spiced Pear Compote

Living as we do in a gated trailer park – populated almost exclusively by people over the age of 65 – I’m not expecting any trick-or-treaters to come knocking at the door of the RV this evening. Be that as it may, I’m not letting Hunter’s first Halloween pass without doing at least a few festive things. While we won’t be taking him out trick-or-treating (the weather is atrocious, he’s only 11 months old and realistically, Mike and I would just end up eating all the candy), I did put together this awesome FUBAR-inspired costume for him (don’t be alarmed; it’s a Canadian thing). Unfortunately I couldn’t find a mullet wig small enough to fit his tiny head. That would have lent the costume even more authenticity.

We also carved pumpkins on Sunday night. They turned out quite nicely – far better, at least, than the pumpkin seeds I meticulously separated from the pulp, rinsed, patted dry, seasoned, put in the oven and then proceeded to forget about – until the smoke detector notified me that they were ‘done’. If you were wondering, charred pumpkin seeds are not good. I salvaged about 1o or 20 that weren’t completely burned; the remainder went in the trash. Better luck next year I guess!

There are some very creative Halloween-themed baking and cooking recipes on the Internet (how nifty are these falafel spiders?) and I’m feeling a little lame not posting something a bit more whimsical today, or at least a recipe that incorporates pumpkin. But if you’re anything like me, you might be suffering from pumpkin burnout at this point, unless you’re a real die hard fan of the stuff. That being said, I do have a pumpkin recipe I intend to post, but it’s very decadent so I’m keeping it in reserve until I really have a reason to celebrate  – i.e. Hunter’s first birthday next month. Hopefully I’ll be over my burnout by then.

These pancakes were supposed to be my breakfast yesterday, but by the time I’d hauled the laundry to and from the park’s public laundry facility (oh to have a washer and drier of my own again… it’s such a luxury), tended to miscellaneous domestic tasks around the RV, and finished yesterday’s post, they were more like a late lunch. Needless to say, after ploughing through a stack of these bad-boys my appetite for dinner was completely ruined, but sometimes these things happen. This was my first time using cottage cheese in a pancake recipe and I really like how they added a nice chewy texture without making the pancakes too dense. Cooking the Spiced Pear Compote made the RV smell divine (I flung open the door to make the neighbours jealous), and atop the pancakes it made for a real Fall-flavoured treat! I think I’d take a stack of homemade yumminess like this over Halloween candy any day (but I think I’ll take both). Happy Halloween!

Recipe: Cottage Cheese Pancakes with Spiced Pear Compote

Ingredients:

Spiced Pear Compote

Makes about 2 1/2 cups

  • 2 cups ripe pear (I used Bosc), diced
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon corn starch
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Cottage Cheese Pancakes (Adapted from this Jamie Oliver recipe)

Makes 8 4″ diameter pancakes

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • Coconut oil or butter/vegan margarine (for pan)
  • Maple syrup to serve (optional)
  • Butter/vegan margarine to serve (optional)

Method:

Prepare Spiced Pear Compote: In a small saucepan whisk together water and corn starch until mixture is free of clumps. Stir in diced pear and spices and bring to a gentle boil. Reduce heat and allow to simmer for 20 minutes, stirring periodically, or until mixture has thickened. Stir in lemon juice. Remove from heat and set aside.

Prepare Cottage Cheese Pancakes: In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In a small bowl whisk together almond milk, egg and sugar. Slowly pour liquid mixture into bowl containing dry ingredients and mix just until combined. Gently fold in cottage cheese. Grease a large skillet and set over medium heat. Once skillet is hot, ladle batter into skillet (I used a 1/4 cup of batter per pancake). Allow pancakes to cook until each side is golden brown.

Serve pancakes, topping each portion with Spiced Pear Compote, butter/vegan margarine and maple syrup (if using). Eat!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cottage Cheese Pancakes with Spiced Pear Compote

Talk to me!

